Librarians’ Challenge…EXTREME!

Standard

Not quite.

What sort of challenge to do you give a librarian? Obstacle chase over shelving?  Timed reference enquiries?  How about a reading challenge?

ALIA (Australian Library and Information Association) have challenged Librarians from all over Australia to read outside their comfort zone for 2010.  Twelve books over twelve months that you wouldn’t normally pick up or even look twice at.

It’s all in the cause of good reader’s advising skills.  Both ALIA and NSW state library are on a drive this year to build up the skills of public library staff to better handle the dreaded question:

Can you recommend something good to read?

So I thought I would join in, but with a tricky twist.  As I’m studying this year and won’t have time for any personal reading at all, I thought I’d listen to them instead on my way to work.  I love talking books and would recommend them to  everyone, especially on long distance car rides.  The 1hour in the car each day will just have to do for this challenge.

I’ll try and expand my reading to things I wouldn’t normally bother with.  I think I may even try a Mills and Boon style romance!

So here’s my list of titles:

January:          Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

February:       The People’s Train by Tom Keneally

March:            Scarecrow by Matthew Reilly and Charles Kingsford Smith andthose magnifcent men by Peter Fitzsimons

April:             Book Binge Month:  All the CBC Short-list I can get my hands on.

May:              A thousand splendid suns by Khaled Hosseini

                      Oscar Wilde and the Candlelight Murders by Gyles Brandreth

June:          The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

                     Captivated by Nora Roberts

July:          The luck of the Bodkins by P.G. Wodehouse

                    The Catcher in the Rye by J.D.Salinger

                    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

                    The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

                    I dream of Magda by Stefan Laszczuk

 

August:    The Eyewitness by Stephen Leather

                    War of the Worlds by  H.G. Wells

                    The list of all aswers by Peter Goldsworthy

September:  Rage of Angels by Sidney Sheldon

                         The Reef  by Di Morrissey

                        May contain traces of magic by Tom Holt

October:          The Stranger by Albert Camus

                        The Road by Cormac McCarthy

November:     City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende

                         The truth about these strange times by Adam Foulds

December:      The patron saint of eels by Gregory Day

 

Leave a Reply

