Your honour, I text my case.

Standard

I was reading an article on teenagers and text speak recently and nearly laughed out loud…which is a bad thing as I was reading at work and I work in a library.

Not at the almost unintelligible number, letter and symbol combinations.  Many of these are clever and I wish I’d had them when I’d been a teen so I could have text my friends in our secret code.

It was the third last on the following list that caught the laugh in my throat:

2MI Too much information

4EA3 Forever and ever

AAS Alive and smiling

AOTA All of the above

B/F Boyfriend

CD9 Code 9 (parents are around)

F2F Free to talk

LMIRL Let’s meet in real life

n00B Newbie

OL Old lady

OOTO Out of the office

POS Parent over shoulder

PTMM Please tell me more

RMMM Read my mail man

ROTFL Rolling on the floor laughing

SPST Same place, same time

SWMBO She who must be obeyed (wife or partner)

T+ Think positive

:@  What!! 

:@  is right!  What is a phrase like “She who must be obeyed” doing in a list of hip sayings like T+ or CD9?!  Instantly I hear Leo McKern in the  sharp and cranky tones of  John Mortimer’s Rumpole of the Bailey growling about the latest restrictions enforced by the formidible Hilda, the aforementioned  and original “She Who Must Be Obeyed”.

That a pudgy little middle aged man with the wit as sharp as a teenagers fashion critic could possibly be on the cutting edge of teen pop culture makes me ROTFL.

TTFN SPST

Leave a Reply

